The Middle-East Conflict – what do I know?

Not much, apparently.

The Middle East conflict between Israel and the Arabs is all over the news. Gaza, Cease-fire, Netyanahu, Hamas – terms that ought to be known. After all, this conflict is slowly developing into a war. And when it involves international superpowers, it means nothing but trouble. What the world definitely doesn’t want at this point, is another World War.

So what is all the fuss about? I took to Google and YouTube to enlighten myself. Unsurprisingly, it was hard to find balanced and unbiased accounts. I am sharing the few unbiased (I think) videos that I stumbled upon.

 

They did give me a broader view of the scenario. But many more ‘hows’, ‘whys’ and ‘whens’ remain to be answered before I can have an opinion of my own. I have resorted to the ‘ink and paper’ version of things and am en route to procuring ‘A History of the Israeli-Palestinian conflict’ by Mark A. Tessler. Apparently, Prof. Tessler provides a neutral point of view. (If anyone has inputs on better sources of info, do let me know)

Nonetheless, whatever be the history and whatever be my opinion, THIS HAS TO STOP. Killing innocent people for whatever reason can never ever be justifiable. I pray that the leaders learn some sense and value the human life.

israel-palestine-accord
Photo Source: http://blog.timesunion.com/muslimwomen/can-israeli-and-palestinian-leaders-end-the-revenge-attacks/5724/
6 thoughts on “The Middle-East Conflict – what do I know?”

  1. Reblogged this on ScribbloGraphy and commented:
    So far I had an idea about both side of the stories, but was sort of inclined towards the Palestinians, may be because of the way the news were articulated or my limited information or what was taught in school or may be a mixture of all and more.
    These 4 videos give you all sides of the story, and this is what I feel
    The 1st one is biased towards Palestine. The 2nd one towards Israel. The 3rd one is very brief and neutral, and the 4th is detailed, neutral and very good. Doesn’t matter.
    What matters is that this has to stop. People can’t keep killing people in the name whatever. It’s just wrong.
    ‘An eye for an eye (and a tooth for a tooth) will only make the whole world blind (and edentulous)!!

    Like

Feel free to share your thoughts...

